• Miscellaneous >> Halal & Haram

    Question ID: 58557Country: India

    Title: If homeopathy Medicines are Halal ?

    Question: Can I treat my disease by Homeopathy as all medicines in Homeopathy are made by alcohol or alcohol is present in the Homeopathic Medicines?

    Answer ID: 58557

    Bismillah hir-Rahman nir-Rahim !

    (Fatwa: 388/353/SN=06/1436) ‘Alcohol’ prepared by grapes, raisin, dates or dried dates is unanimously haram and unlawful. It is not lawful to sip even a single drop of it though for the purpose of treatment. And alcohol that is extracted from other things ie grains, sugarcane molasses, potato, petrol etc if it is intoxicative then it shall also be unlawful but to a slight degree. Hence Ulama have allowed to use the medicines containing the latter types of alcohol out of need and welfare of masses. It is known by research that Homeopathic medicines contain such alcohol which is made of sugarcane molasses, potato or vegetables. Also it is not possible to avoid it due to its frequent use. Hence it is allowable to use such Homeopathic medicines which contain such alcohol. (Takmilah Fath al-Mulhim (3:608, pub. Ashrafi), Badai Sanaye (4:286, pub. Zakariya), Kifayatul Mufti (9:137) and Bahishti Zewar: Jamadat Ka Bayan (9:102, pub. Akhtari).

    Allah (Subhana Wa Ta'ala) knows Best

    Darul Ifta,

    Darul Uloom Deoband, India