• Miscellaneous >> Halal & Haram

    Question ID: 174321Country: India

    Title: Gelatin Capsule not sure whether animal-derived or vegeterian

    Question: I am working and living in Jeddah. Due to some, I need omega 3 fatty acid as nutrition. I bought io-marine fish oil capsule which is manufactured by pharma Nord a UK based company in Denmark. The capsule is made up of Gelatin (upper layer) and they didn't clarify whether it is vegetarian or derived by animals organs. I want to ask shall I eat it or leave it. As I don't want that Allah will angry on me. Please provide a better answer and also tell some Halal Companies to get food supplement.

    Answer ID: 174321

    Bismillah hir-Rahman nir-Rahim !

    (Fatwa: 221/156/SD=3/1441)


    (1) If you don’t know what types of gelatin is used to prepare the cover of capsule then it is better that you avoid using such capsule, specially when the other alternate medicine is available. The Shariah ruling related using the gelatin has some details. Two detailed fatwas are available in “Chand Ahem Asri Masail” Vol 2, pages: 324-334. Some details are also available in "Fatawa Usmani" Vol 4, pages 333-338. You may read it.

    (2) For Halal Companies, consult the local concerned persons.

    Allah (Subhana Wa Ta'ala) knows Best

    Darul Ifta,

    Darul Uloom Deoband, India