Miscellaneous >> Halal & Haram

Question # : 141

India

Recently I purchased a medicine having 11% self generated alcohol. Is it permissible for me to have this medicine containing alcohol?

Answer : 141

Published on: Apr 23, 2007

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم


(Fatwa: 137=136/L)


 


Nowadays, the alcohol used in medicines is generally not wine (made of grapes) but it is made of potato, wheat etc. Therefore, it may be allowed to be used. But, if it is proved that the alcohol used in the medicine is from grapes or raisin then you will not be allowed to use it, since a drop of it is also impure and haram.


 

Yes, if some honest and expert physicians prescribe that a particular disease cannot be treated without it and there is fear of death, then such medicines can be used in a quantity that is necessary.  (extracted from Takmila Fathul Mulhim 3/608)

Allah knows Best!


Darul Ifta,
Darul Uloom Deoband

Related Question