Social Matters >> Food & Drinks

Question # : 343

United States of America

Asslamu aleykum


First I would like to thank Deoband for there services to the deen, May Allah bless all of them and grant them Jannatul-Firdous.


From what things that alcohal is derived isnt allowed? For example you said if it is from grape then it isnt allowed. So can you tell me all of the things that if used for alcohal are not allowed.


Jazakallah khair!

Answer : 343

Published on: May 7, 2007

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم


(Fatwa: 159=161/L)


 


If alcohol is made of grapes, raisin and dates then it will be haram, its business will be prohibited and more than size of a coin on cloth will make salah nullified.


 


But, if it is made of sugarcane, potato, pumpkin, carrot, tomato, radish vegetables then it will not be allowed to drink but its business and usage in medicines may be permitted:


فانھا ان اتخذت من العنب او التمر فلا سبیل الی حلتھا او طھارتھا، وان اتخذت من غیرھما فالامر فیھا سھل الخ (تکملة فتح الملھم 3/608)



Allah knows Best!


Darul Ifta,
Darul Uloom Deoband

Related Question